I was just wondering if anyone actually reads this little thing I call my blog... I'm guessing no, but that's quite alright. I'm finding this is a nice outlet for all of my witty, sarcastic, and down right fucking hilarious comments on life and the things we do.
So onto the title of this entry, new year's eve is overrated. I don't understand why, of all nights, you would want to be out driving around, party hopping, and getting fucked up. Wouldn't it be a shitload more fun to have a new year's eve party on a night when no one else is doing the _exact_ same thing you are doing? I guess the reason I don't think it's all that great is I was sick this new year's eve, and didn't leave my room. I've been sick since I got back from Indiana last Tuesday night at around 3:30am. I haven't had a cigarette for six days now, give or take an hour. I think I'm going to use this as an excuse to stop smoking for a while. I love smoking, don't get me wrong, and I'm absolutely great at it (it's one of my better skills), but I hate getting sick. So I think I'm going to say if I get a 3.5gpa or better this quarter in school (classes started today), then I can smoke again, but only when playing poker or while out at a bar or some similar dive/shady place. So I guess I'm going to be doing really fucking well in school this quarter, because god knows I need a cigarette. So yeah, back to new years... I guess I haven't really done anything stellar for new years since 2000, that was a good new years. And now I'm bored with this subject...onto bigger and better things.
I saw The Grudge the other day finally, and wasn't too impressed. There were some jump scenes, as well as a few that just fucking weirded me out... but what I want to know is, just about a whole fucking family disappears, and only when Buffy gets into trouble does Tokyo's finest start digging. Also, can't you come up with something creepier than that stupid gutteral (sp?) sound for the ghost to make? The special fx was mediocre, though not much was needed, and I suppose the music created most of the jump scenes, but I was expecting better from Buffy.
I also saw In Good Company with Topher Grace and Dennis Quaid... now this is a good movie. Topher finally gets a leading role, though he shares most of his camera time with Quaid, that he can show off his acting skills. I've always been a fan of his characters since I started watching That 70's Show, and even though I didn't like this character quite as much, it's still Topher, and he did a great job with it. I do have to say though, Scarlette Johansson didn't give off quite the Lost in Translation vibe I was hoping to get from her, but she wasn't horrific either. Also CSI's Marg Helgenberger was great, and man, does she look good for a 45+ year old! I was a little upset with the ending though, and to avoid any spoilers, I'll just say I was left wanting...
Ah yes, I also saw Finding Neverland with Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet, and once again, Depp has given me another movie to add to my must-see collection. You see, I find that so many people haven't ever seen some of the greats that most people who are moderately interested in movies have seen... so I've started this collection of movies that when I meet someone who is one of those people who's seen your typical top-10 blockbuster movies, but never any of the real movies with heart or a great storyline, and you rattle off your top 10 list and they've only seen one of them... I mean come on, who hasn't seen High Fidelity? Are you serious? It's fucking John Cusack people! Or who hasn't seen Edward Scissorhands? Johnny Depp... Winona Ryder or however her name is spelled? Jesus! So this list will be a quick and efficient way for me to say, do not engage me in conversation until you have watched these movies. Hell I'll make my kids watch them when they turn 16. So anyways, back to the movie. Finding Neverland was great. You just can't seem to put Depp and a bad script together. Though I found the pacing was a little lax at times, overall it was a well shot, well acted, well written movie that has a great ending.
Movies I still have to see: Kinsey, Life Aquatic (I saw the 1st half already), The Door in the Floor, Stealing Sinatra, and Before Sunset
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment