Sunday, January 16, 2005

i've been there before... knocking on the same door

I think there are a few movies that really hit the target when it comes to how we act with other people in our lives... and Closer is one of them. First of all, I must say, Natalie Portman continues to suprise me. Not only is she gorgeous, but she can act... and pulls at my strings when she cries. *claps* Jude Law delivers his usual stellar performance, and finally a movie that Julia Roberts gets to say 'fuck' multiple times. Clive Owen, who is a relative unknown to most of you mainstream movie go-ers delivers a great performance. I've always been a fan of him, and he just keeps on doing good things.

I still have yet to see Elektra, though I've heard good things about the CG and fight scenes, I'm sure a good copy will be out for me to get my thieving hands on soon enough.

To move on to some more dynamic conversation, I turn to poker. I started keeping track of how much money I actually spend on poker... it was one of my new year's resolutions that I decided to do about 5 days after the new year ;) Since January 1st I've played in 10 poker games, so that's a little more than 1 game every two days. Yeah, I've been a busy little gambler. But things are looking up... of those 10 games, I've won a total of $415 for a profit of $180... so for all of you who think I gamble too much, suck on those numbers.

Ok what else can I blather on about... I got about 2 hours of sleep last night (Saturday night), and about 3 hours Friday night... I really need to stop doing this on the weekends, it's just not healthy. Friday night was my own fault, I wasn't out doing anything of consequence, I was just relaxing and reading a book and the next thing I knew it was 3am... and yeah, 6am came quickly. Last night I was playing poker, which in hindsight I knew I should have passed on. I was tired as it was, and just frankly wasn't playing my best. I made bad reads, and it seemed like everytime I made a move at a pot, someone would re-raise me and there was no way I call. It went like that more times than I care to remember, then I had A,Kd and it held vs K,10s and doubled me up to around 3,200 in chips (we started with 5,000). By now the blinds were around 200/400, so I was low stack just from the blinds. I like to be able to play my hands not the blinds, but being short I knew I couldn't afford that luxury. Again, I made a position raise on the button w/ A,7o to 500. The SB raises to around 2,000, which of course I cannot call. So then after another round of blinds I'm sitting with 2,200 in chips with my SB of 200 in the pot. The BB was all in basically cause he had 500 chips (BB was 400). Under the gun the large stack at the table raised and made it 1,500 to go. The table folded around to me, and I look down at A,Qo. Now being short stacked, this of course is a prime opportunity for me to double through. Since I knew I didn't have to worry about the BB, I put the raiser on a low pocket pair... so knowing I was on the losing end of a coin flip, i went all in for around 800 more, and the large stack of course, called me. Turns out he had J,J, but that's just as well to me as 2,2, as he has a made hand, and I didn't. So I didn't hit anything, busted out. Then we played over at JT's for a little less of a buy in, and didn't get going till around 11:30pm. I was huge chip stacked until JT sucked out on me... I limped in with K,10o and JT was the BB and checked. Flop came x,x,10. I lead out and bet 400, which was around the size of the pot. JT sits and thinks, raises me to 1,000. I smooth call, off we go to the turn. Turn is another blank. I bet 1,000, JT goes all in. I quickly call, knowing either I have him outkicked or he was on draw. JT shows me J,10o. So of course, I have him in a crushed position with only 3 outs... and of course, he hits another J on the river giving him 2 pair. That hurt. I then got A,A and got no action... and lost, not due to a lack of hot cards, due to a bad move. I was in a hand with Coleman with K,9o. I had limped in, Coleman had raised around 3x the big blind. I put him on some middle suited connectors... Q,9, J,9, etc... but didn't think I was dominated. Flop came J,3,J. I check, Coleman checks. Turn comes an A. I check, Coleman bets 500. Again, I really think I was just tired, because there was not enough in the pot for this move, and I knew I was beat, but I was trying to get him off his hand. I was betting, and by betting I mean hoping, that he hit his A on the river and was trying to buy the pot up right there. If he hit his Ace, I knew I could push him out, but only with all my chips, so, I push them all in there. He quickly calls, and I knew he had the Jack. He of course turns over trips, and I know I'm drawing dead with King high and muck my cards. So yeah, that's 2 bad moves in 2 games. I think I'm going to take a little break from playing poker till Wednesday @ Denny's. I need to get my head straightened out. I've been winning a lot, but there are aspects of my play I need to fix, and fix quickly.

So yeah, that's about it... classes are started, and I'm now 2 weeks in, starting week 3 on tuesday... only 8 more to go... and by that I mean 8 more weeks to go this quarter. In no way am I close to finished. I so regret putting this off... but then I wouldn't have all my nice toys.

Oh yeah, some weird shit happened this morning. 1st, I have for the first time slept in and been late for work on a saturday or sunday morning. I woke up at 7:15am w/ no recollection of my alarm going off at 6:15am. Who knows, then I go outside... yeah, my car which I parked in the driveway, is fucking sitting in the middle of the street. I had backed it in at 4am that morning, and there was already snow, so what I think happened was I might have spun my tires a bit backing into the driveway, and when I parked and pulled my E-brake (i never leave it in gear), got out and went inside, it must have just gradually slid down. Thank GOD no one t-boned my car, as there was easily 4 inches of snow on the ground when I got outside at 7:20am. So tonight I'm going to test it again... cause if it's my E-brake I need to know. The remote starter on the car doesn't work if it's in gear, so this could present a problem... it's a '99 civic though, so I doubt my e-brake is gone, but one never knows.

That's it for now... go fuck yourself San Diego.

No comments: