Monday, July 16, 2007

strong bones... not always a good thing...


This is an ad for a South African brand of milk. Let's see, a guy gets stuck in bear trap; guy tries to free himself by sawing off foot; guy fails to saw off foot due to incredibly strong, milk-fortified bones; guy dies and rots. Wow. How totally awesome is that. I would love to shake the designers hand... I'm sure the full-blown AIDS didn't help the guy either, though...

it's been a while

So it's been quite some time since I've done a post... well over a year in fact. I don't know how often I'll post here, as I tend to be whimsical with these kinds of things, but lately I've been reading a lot of blogs, probably because I'm bored at work.

So what's new... I got a job at Cardinal Health about 4 months ago. I stopped working for that shit-hole Sarcom finally, after something like 6 1/2 years. So now I do pretty much the same thing I did before, but get paid more. I'm on the 8-5 kick, which sucks. I guess I'm just a night person, and always will be. Everyone always told me that I'd get used to it, that it would become easier, but it hasn't. I still find myself hard-pressed to go to bed before 1am, and generally end up falling asleep around 2am... So yeah, waking up at 7am sucks hard on 5 hours of sleep.

What else... Still in school, took last quarter off as I really was slacking and wasting my money. I have like 30 credits left, but to be honest I don't care much about school. I guess at this point in my life, I don't want to do anything that would require me to have a degree, or be assisted by me having said degree. I'm tired of waking up every morning and despising going to work. What kind of a life is that? What's that you say? Everyone does it? FUCK that! Seriously, is that the answer? Beause that's how the world works? Again i say it, FUCK THAT! This is our one shot on this earth, our one life... So why should I spend it being unhappy? I want to do something that makes me happy, something that lets me set my own hours, but yet make a shit ton of money.

So that leaves me with 4 options:
1. Win the lottery - this is probably _not_ going to happen, as I never play the lottery.
2. Start my own business - I definitely have that start-up spirit, but have yet to find an idea that would work
3. Marry into money - seeing as how the girl I'm currently dating isn't filthy rich, this is a far off chance
4. Play poker professionally - this seems to be the most realistic option for me.

So yeah, poker professionally. I honestly believe I have the skills to win consistently at poker, the problem is at the moment, I have so many bills to pay, I cannot establish a separate bankroll for poker. Currently my poker roll _IS_ my checking/savings accounts. Whatever I win in poker goes straight to paying bills. So that basically means I play poker less frequently, and therefore have less chances to win. It's pretty frustrating to not be able to do something you enjoy, especially when that something could realistically replace your day job. But who knows where I'll end up. I would love to pick up and go to vegas and play for a living, but realistically Ohio will have casinos within the next 5 years, and currently there's enough cash games and tournaments that I could play every day of the week, all day long. So hopefully I'll get some loot together and start winning some cash!

I guess I should get back to work, or at least go smoke a cigarette... Yeah, that sounds good ;)

Later bitches.

E